The CSSS seminar series

The CSSS seminar series is centered around intellectual exchange and interaction, and the audience is encouraged to ask questions during presentations. The goal is a seminar that looks less like a lecture and more like a spirited discussion of issues raised in a relatively brief presentation of a statistical issue or a research project.

All seminars will be held at 12:30 on Wednesdays in Savery 409 unless otherwise noted, and we will aim to conclude by 1:30. Coffee and treats will be provided after the seminar; attendees are also welcome to bring their lunch.

For information or questions about the CSSS Seminars, please contact our CSSS Seminar Director, Jeff Arnold (jrnold@uw.edu).


Archive of Past Seminars · Upcoming Seminars · Email List


Autumn 2014

Seminars held in SAV 409 from 12:30pm - 1:20pm,
followed by discussion and refreshments

Wednesday, September 24, 2014
No Seminar

Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Miguel Hernan, Harvard Department of Epidemiology
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Rachel Heath, UW Dept. of Economics
Intrahousehold Bargaining, Female Autonomy, and Labor Supply: Theory and Evidence from India
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Jevin West, UW Information School
Finding Cultural Holes: How Structure and Culture Diverge in Networks of Scholarly Communication
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Emma Spiro, UW Information School
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tyler McCormick, UW Departments of Statistics and Sociology
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Adrian Raftery, UW Departments of Statistics and Sociology
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Daniel Lee, Columbia Department of Statistics
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Daniela Whiten, UW Department of Biostatistics
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, November 26, 2014
None - Thanksgiving Holiday
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Mako Hill, UW Department of Communication
Savery 409, 12:30 P.M. - 1:20 P.M.

Wednesday, December 10, 2014
No Seminar